About Lazy Afternoon


“Sparkling Country spiced with Tex-Mex, Cajun and Rock’n’roll”

Gotlandic Lazy Afternoon plays lovely rocking americana. The band gives you lovely songs, great harmony singing, howling electric guitar and hot, rytmic accordeon. And so the Irish bouzoukin of course. All in all, this creates Lazy afternoon and the sound and music that makes it hard to sit still.


#lazyafternoonmusic #americana #gotland #country #folkrock

Lazy Afternoon – Almost Home

Bo till Anna

It began as a solo project for Bo Ahlbertz with mostly co-written songs. The album was named Lazy Afternoon. To perform the songs, a band with the same as the album name was put together. Stefan was on the bass from the start. Band members came and went and sometime at the turn of 2014/2015 we took a decision to record a bunch of songs. Stefan (bass and harmonies), Jörgen (melodeons), André (guitars and harmonies), Mattias (drums) and I (vocals and bouzouki). Five of them were released as singles during the year and around the next year we recorded the rest. Now Pontus came in on guitar instead of André, who had moved to Stockholm. We released the album in the spring of 2016 and called it “Whatever!” A bit awkward and cocky: “We play this music whatever you say”.

In the summer of 2016, Cristina (song and guitar) joined the band and then we put over several songs on her to sing and also some duets.

2017 we got Maria (choir and percussion) too. Now we had enough strong singers to create lovely harmonies, two really talented soloists on melodeon and guitar and a solid rhythm section and good songwriters. We released a sample of what was to come in the spring of 2018. A two songs single that gave fine reviews.

Shortly before we recorded the rest of the album in the fall of 2018, we lost our drummer. Said and done, Stefan had to change the bass to the drums and Lars came in on bass.

When we now released our second studio album with studio engineer Anders, we have got Peter as marketing and promoting. In addition, we have had Ancha who designed two albums now and all singles.

The album was released on the Paraply record, which released the latest Mikael Ramel album and the distribution is handled by Border Music.

Maria left the band in the late atumn 2019.

At the beginning of 2020 the pandemi hit us all. With no gigs and Cristina down in Malmö and soon became a parent. We decided to start recording a new album. During the summer we had some smaller gigs and in the beginning of november we released the first of several songs, “Wild”.

Then of different reasons it took half a year until the next song was released. “Trapped”. This summer slowly we can start playing live again for smaller audience. We got a new member on percussions and fiddle this summer. Elvira Hall.  

The Pandemi came back during the autumn and we released the third single “My Harbour Home”. And during the winter we finished the new album “Just As Poor As Before”. Release May 6 2022. We also needed to to some changes in the lineup. Stefan is back on the bass and we had some auditions for a new drummer. 

Looking forward to play live again. 

/ Bo Ahlbertz

Line up:
Bo Ahlbertz – vocals (lead) and Irish bouzouki
Cristina Säfsten – vocals (lead) and accoustic guitar
Elvira Hall – washboard, fiddle, congas and song
Jörgen Ahlqvist – accordion and melodeons
Magnus Gillander and Pontus Kristiansson – drums
Pontus Nordborg – electric guitar, dobro  and harmonies
Stefan Magnusson – Bass and harmonies

Releases: The singles “Any Road”, “As Time is Passing”, “Before you fall asleep”, “Goodbye” and “Viva La Quinta Brigada”  (2015, Artache)

CD-Album “Whatever!” (May 2016, Artache)
Vinyl Album” Whatever!” (Oct 2016, Artache)
Single “Every Time” (May 2018, Artache)
CD-Album “Almost Home” (May 2019, Paraply/Artache)
Single “Wild” (Oct 2020 Paraply/Artache)
Single “Trapped (April 2021 Paraply/Artache)
Single “May Harbour Home” (Nov 2021 Paraply/Artache)
Album “Just As Poor As Before” May 2022 Paraply/Artache)

Former members:
Jeff Lindqvist – mandoline
Lars Krutof – dobro
André Kristiansson – electric guitars
Mattias Svensson – drums
Maria Nordseth – percussions and harmonies
Lars Johansson – bass

Beloved guests on stage:
Peter Tomsson – accordion and melodeons
Jonas Ahlström – drums
Lars Johansson – bass
Bie Karlsson – electric guitar
Sten Flader – electric guitar

Guests and workpartners:
Sofia Lilja – backing vocals on Whatever!
Christian Hoy – Backin vocals on Whatever!
Maria Nordseth – backing vocals on “Just As Poor As Before” 
Anders Nordh – backing vocals on As Time Is Passing Bye and also studioenginering and mastering in general.
Robin Larsson – banjo on “Who Am I To Say” and mixing “Just As Poor As Before” New Album
Linus Larsson for mastering the same album
Ancha Ahlbertz for all artwork.
Roger Johansson and Emma Wulcan for Photos